Daily Fantasy Golf Rankings for the 2020 The Players Championship

Daily Fantasy Golf Rankings, analysis and Picks for The Players Championship

It’s a million-dollar weekend for Daily Fantasy Golf players. DraftKings’ top-prize for the $20 entry is $1,000,000. Somebody is going to win; it might as well be me! If not me, then you.

DFS and BETS took a little different look at The Players field to identify trends to help us narrow down the field of 148 to a few potential winners. Based on the last five-years, we uncovered the following that the previous five The Players’ champs have in common.

None were repeat winners – Sorry Rory McIlroy, you will not be on our squad. (We probably just guaranteed he gets his second consecutive title.)

Each played the prior week and finished no worse than 22nd. The semi-exception being 2017 winner So Woo Kim who played in a team event the week prior to The Players and missed the cut. However, he finished tied for 22nd in an individual event the week prior to the Zurich Open. So, we are going with the standalone tournament as our place marker.

Each also played The Players the year before. How they played in the previous The Players doesn’t matter as Rory and 2016 winner Jason Day missed the cut a year before hoisting the trophy. Rickie Fowler was 77th in 2014 before earning the biggest tour victory of his career in 2015.

The list of golfers who meet the all the criteria includes:

  • Rory McIlroy
  • Joel Dahmen
  • Bryson DeChambeau
  • Tom Hoge
  • Matthew Fitzpatrick
  • Rickie Fowler
  • Patrick Reed
  • Jason Kokrak
  • Keith Mitchell
  • Sung Kang
  • Sungjae Im
  • Marc Leishman
  • Tyrrell Hatton
  • Danny Willett
  • Harris English
  • Talor Gooch
  • Danny Lee
  • Charley Hoffman

DFS and BETS constructed our DraftKings, million-dollar lineup almost exclusively from the 18 who made the full criteria list. Tommy Fleetwood, last year’s runner up being the only exception. He met every rule not including finishing in the top 22 last week.

Daily Fantasy Golf Picks

Last week, we called all of the NBC SportsPredictor matchups correctly. If we only had Tyrrell Hatton as the winner at -4, it would have been $50,000. Maybe, this week.
Here are picks for The Players:

Rory McIlroy versus Jon Rahm: Pick – Rory McIlroy
Justin Thomas versus Patrick Reed: Pick – Justin Thomas
Brooks Koepka versus Dustin Johnson: Pick – Brooks Koepka
Adam Scott versus Webb Simpson: Pick – Adam Scott
Phil Mickelson versus Jordan Spieth: Pick – Jordan Spieth
Jason Day versus Rickie Fowler: Pick – Rickie Fowler
Matt Kuchar versus Bryson DeChambeau: Pick – Bryson DeChambeau

Winner: Marc Leishman -14

Our Full Daily Fantasy Golf Rankings for the 2020 The Players Championship

Marc Leishman
Justin Thomas
Rory McIlroy
Adam Scott
Gary Woodland
Rickie Fowler
Patrick Cantlay
Sungjae Im
Brooks Koepka
Tommy Fleetwood
Xander Schauffele
Hideki Matsuyama
Adam Hadwin
Bryson DeChambeau
Jordan Spieth
Rafa Cabrera Bello
Jon Rahm
Joel Dahmen
Justin Rose
J.T. Poston
Webb Simpson
Patrick Reed
Charles Howell III
Dustin Johnson
Chez Reavie
Tony Finau
Paul Casey
Jason Kokrak
Andrew Putnam
Joaquin Niemann
Byeong Hun An
Phil Mickelson
Lucas Glover
Jason Day
Collin Morikawa
Abraham Ancer
Matt Kuchar
Corey Conners
Brandt Snedeker
Cameron Smith
Ian Poulter
Bubba Watson
Danny Willett
Kevin Na
Matthew Fitzpatrick
Keegan Bradley
Louis Oosthuizen
C.T. Pan
Tyrrell Hatton
J.B. Holmes
Billy Horschel
Kevin Kisner
Jim Furyk
Sergio Garcia
Francesco Molinari
Henrik Stenson
Victor Perez
Christiaan Bezuidenhout
Retief Goosen
Sebastian Munoz
Matthew Wolff
Viktor Hovland
Lanto Griffin
Scottie Scheffler
Brendon Todd
Shane Lowry
Matt Wallace
Bernd Wiesberger
Jazz Janewattananond
Lee Westwood
Erik Van Rooyen
Shugo Imahira
Matt Every
Mark Hubbard
Cameron Champ
Aaron Wise
Ryan Moore
Wyndham Clark
Jhonattan Vegas
Keith Mitchell
Bud Cauley
Talor Gooch
Luke List
Sepp Straka
Nate Lashley
Dylan Frittelli
Sam Ryder
Danny Lee
Adam Schenk
Denny McCarthy
Rory Sabbatini
Scott Piercy
Sam Burns
Vaughn Taylor
Scott Stallings
Nick Watney
Michael Thompson
Aaron Baddeley
Harold Varner III
Si Woo Kim
Sung Kang
Nick Taylor
Ryan Palmer
Troy Merritt
Roger Sloan
Peter Malnati
Bronson Burgoon
Adam Long
Emiliano Grillo
Matt Jones
Ryan Armour
Pat Perez
Max Homa
Patton Kizzire
Kevin Streelman
Martin Laird
Carlos Ortiz
Patrick Rodgers
Brice Garnett
Daniel Berger
Cameron Tringale
Scott Brown
Harris English
Charley Hoffman
Jason Dufner
Zach Johnson
Jonas Blixt
Brian Stuard
Brian Harman
Brian Gay
Chesson Hadley
Mackenzie Hughes
Kyle Stanley
J.J. Spaun
Kelly Kraft
Kevin Tway
Graeme McDowell
Andrew Landry
Kyoung-Hoon Lee
Kiradech Aphibarnrat
Tyler Duncan
Russell Knox
Tom Hoge
Branden Grace
Russell Henley
Jim Herman
Jimmy Walker
Chris Stroud

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *